Beyond Appearances

Honestly, I had the ‘Simon Cowell’ look when I first saw Paul Potts: oh no, another ‘William Hung’ in the making?! And I thought the judges were going to have such a good time blasting him afterwards. Little did I know; narrow was my perception.

When he opened his mouth to sing, I vividly remembered having goosebumps almost instantaneously. I hardly understood a word he sang except that it was an oft-heard opera tune. But the passion he exuded was palpable; the feelings he emoted were raw. I was awestruck, dumbfounded but most of all, ashamed. For I had judged too quickly by outward appearances and thus, dismissed him away too quickly as well. He had me in tears by the time he finished. [Note: By the way, Paul went on to win “British Got Talent 2006”, sang for the Queen, and recently released his first album “One Chance”.]

And he set me thinking. How many ‘Paul Potts’ have I dismissed away in my life? Simply because they didn’t measure up to my standards; fit into my mould; live up to my pre-conceived ideas; have impressive credentials etc.

Contrast that with God’s perspective. “The Lord said to Samuel:’Don’t judge by his appearance or height, for I have rejected him.The Lord doesn’t make decisions the way you do! People judge by outward appearance, but the Lord looks at a person’s thoughts and intentions.'” (1 Sam 16: 7)

Posted on November 30, 2007, in Musings, Videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My tears rolling when Paul started to sing.
    This is so great, it touched n moved me. yes indeed we all judge ppl by their look, again we are so wrong.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. heylo my favourite married couple from the Young Adults~ great to know God is so integral in every facet of your new life there!

    i’m told it feels like a retirement paradise over there… enjoy yeah?

    cheers

Leave a Reply

