power of words

Proverbs 21:9

“It’s better to live alone in the corner of an attic than with a quarrelsome wife in a lovely home.”

Proverbs 21:19

“It’s better to live alone in the desert than with a quarrelsome, complaining wife.”

Proverbs 27:15

“A quarrelsome wife is as annoying as constant dripping on a rainy day.”

This is a recent reflection from my quiet time while reading Proverbs 21.Then I noticed that there were a few repetitive verses occurring in the subsequent chapters. It was about the ‘quarrelsome’ wife. And I thought Solomon was really humourous in his comparison of such a wife – “constant dripping on a rainy day”, ‘better to live alone in the desert than with…”, “better to live alone in the corner of an attic than with…” Whoever says the Bible is a dry and boring book should read Proverbs for smiles sometimes…

On further reflection, I noticed the common fault attributed to the wife was all related to what she says. While men have always known to be more action-oriented, we women have always been quicker with our mouth. Therein lies the double-edged sword – with our mouth we can either encourage or discourage. So I think these verses also extends beyond my role as a wife; I am also a daughter, a sister, a co-worker, an aunt, a friend etc. Thus I find myself asking: what’s coming out of my mouth today?

Posted on April 23, 2009, in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

