good job, well done!

Last night was special – CS received a top achiever award from the company for outstanding performance. Here’s what he has to say when I emailed him this morning for a “short interview”:

‘As my wife would know, I’ve been feeling rather unhappy with what I am doing now. Not wanting to sound spiritual or holy molly, one verse from the Bible has always been my motivation, “Whatever we do, do it as unto the Lord”. Having said this, I was not expecting to win cos I was the last one at my work place to receive the invitation to go for this event. And as I was told, invitation was in the order of what you’ve achieved. Then my account manager came to me one day and apologized to me for the late invite. She said there was a stuff-up on the computer listing. Really thank God for this. And I’m sure Erv is thanking God too for the shopping voucher for Christmas! (just kidding, she offered to let me have the voucher to get my Christmas gift for myself.)”

For me, what made this award extraordinary is the fact that CS hasn’t been enjoying his work for the last year or so. The nature of the job is demanding and stressful – try dealing with irate clients who could be screaming and swearing over the phone and having to meeting sales quota. God knows there were days when he woke up dreading to go to work. But still he went.

Weeks ago, God taught me a the life lesson from this – it is easy to excel in a job you are passionate about. You are MOTIVATED to do your best. You WANT to do your best. But what if you landed in a job where things aren’t as rosy? Do you still do your best? Or do you just slide into mediocrity?

That’s why I really respect CS  (and I told him so) – much as he didn’t like or enjoy his job, that didn’t stop him from giving his best to his clients and his company. And God is no debtor of men too. CS has been rewarded every now and then with performance incentives – a 40 inch LCD television, a Nintendo DS player, and hundreds of dollars worth of shopping vouchers etc.

I have learned so much from CS and his attitude to work. He inspires me to never compromise on the spirit of excellency even when I am called to do things I may not like at work.

Colossians 3: 22-25 – Servants, do what you’re told by your earthly masters. And don’t just do the minimum that will get you by. Do your best. Work from the heart for your real Master, for God, confident that you’ll get paid in full when you come into your inheritance. Keep in mind always that the ultimate Master you’re serving is Christ. The sullen servant who does shoddy work will be held responsible. Being a follower of Jesus doesn’t cover up bad work. (The Message Bible)

This Sunday is our 10th “official” wedding anniversary, and I couldn’t have been more proud to be married to this man. He rocks my world…

Posted on November 27, 2009, in Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Congrats, Bro Chin Seng! You are a great role model and a living testimony of ‘whatever you do, do it unto the Lord”! It must be a great birthday gift too! =) Happy Birthday! =)

  2. Thanks, Esther!

  3. Woohoo!! What a great read and start to the morning! Congratulations Bro CS! I hope you guys have a great time in Cairns 🙂

Leave a Reply

