glimpses of Christmas around the house

This Christmas is an extra special one for us since it is the first Christmas in our little nest. For a long while, I was undecided about getting our old tree out from storage and decorating it. Finally, I decided against it. Somehow, the idea of having an artificial tree wasn’t as appealing to me as it was before. Nonetheless, something has to be done in order to get into the festive mood of the season!

But I gave myself a challenge – to recycle all our existing ornaments and not buy new ones. So I went on a ‘hunting and gathering’ trip and looked for twigs that I could use…These were what I made from them:

Centrepiece for our dining table; the personalized ceramic star was the only Christmas decorative thing I’ve bought…

Centrepiece for our outdoor dining table; all ornaments were bought from IKEA in previous years…

Outside – Twiggy wreath on our front door…

Inside – On the little ledge beside our front door…

Presents corner!

P/S: I am a guest blogger on Mish’s blog today writing about ‘a handmade life’, go check it out.

Posted on December 17, 2009, in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

